Learning Italian While Gaming

July 4, 2008

I love learning new languages, and I find that gaming is a really fun way to go about it- even if you have to suffer a high ping in order to access a foreign server.

I enjoy playing on Italian servers, and the great thing about them is that they are full in the morning, when the Canadian servers are all empty. On the weekends I’m an early gamer, and playing dustbowl with 3 other people isn’t very fun.

I try my best to listen to what people are saying over the mic, and I try to add to the conversation when I can. I play medic pretty often, and that involves a lot of talking- about where the enemies are, and about the status of my uber.

Here is some vocabulary that I have found useful when gaming con gli italiani !

For calling out enemy locations:
In front – d’avanti
Behind – dietro
Right-side – a destra
Left-side – a sinistra

General:
Medic – medico
Spy – Spia (pronounced Spee-a)
Wait – aspettare (conjugated, I would say “aspetta”)
I will give you my uber – “(name of person) darò il mio salsicciotto (OR la mia uber)”

Note: Vocabulary taken from my handy Larousse + my grammar is by no means perfect, as I’m still learning !

Updates: Corrections to some of the vocabulary- thanks to Gater, Inverno, & SiYiSMA 🙂

5 Responses to “Learning Italian While Gaming”

  1. inverno said

    I will give you my uber – “(name of person) darò il mio salsicciotto”

  2. Learning a foreign language while playing a game is a good idea.
    I studied english at school and I use the english (my motherlanguage is italian) every day while playing games like Tf2.

    Continue in learning the italian, is the best language in the world!
    See you soon on our TF2 servers!
    P.s. Add me on steam friends! n!Gage | Gater
    See you soon!

  3. fragwagon said

    Man, if you can learn Italian while gaming, there is hope for me someday learning l33tsp3@k!

  4. prettypinkninja said

    Thanks for the suggestions Inverno & Gater 🙂

    That’s cool that you get to practice a language, too, with tf2. Thanks, I will definitely keep practicing my italian; it is such a beautiful language. I added you back 🙂

    It sounds like you’re already fluent in it, Pad!

  5. […] – bookmarked by 3 members originally found by luckyandbruisershow on 2008-08-12 Learning Italian While Gaming https://prettypinkninja.wordpress.com/2008/07/04/learning-italian-while-gaming/ – bookmarked by 2 […]

Leave a Reply

