ESEA TF2 service launched

November 2, 2008

The new TF2 ESEA service is already up and kicking! I am curious to see how it will thrive in the Team Fortress 2 community, which is significantly smaller than both the CS 1.6 and Source communities.

One personal friend on mine who plays in CEVO-P seems to be really impressed with ESEA, and all of the stats it offers. Another positive account- the user m3lior on the GotFrag forums said that he “played 6 straight pugs, and every time someone dropped a sub was found automatically within minutes”. It is definitely annoying in tf2.gather.us to have to scrap a pug when people take their sweet time or just don’t show up.

I decided to sign up for an ESEA account, as I read in the forums that they were giving out 1 week trials of the Premium subscription. After I tried to activate the trial, though, I learned that they are only available in limited quantities. Torbull is giving out free trials to people who list their usernames on the following GotFrag thread, so there is still some hope for the rest of us!

I’m not in a huge rush to start the trial, though, as there is still an upcoming class restrictions feature to be implemented. I was chatting with Onawire, leader of #1000, and my clanmate (<3) yesterday about ESEA, and he is the one who told me all about it. I wasn’t really sure what it meant on the website, but now I am very interested in this feature that would ensure that you get to play the class that you select prior to playing the game. Medic is most certainly my primary class, but if I was to pay for ESEA then I would like to improve my skills in other areas of the game. I am not a very good souljah girl, but it would be nice to get better in the kind of competitive and fair environment that ESEA is known to offer.

Eventually I would like to see some balancing of skill levels, as it would be my worst nightmare to play soldier against Reptile!

More updates to come once I get the free trial!

ESEA: Premium

Update: Wow, Torbull activated my free trial within minutes of my post!

One Response to “ESEA TF2 service launched”

  1. Newt Pulsifer said

    Yay! Grats on your trial 🙂
    It would be a dream to play soldier vs reptile!
    Unfortunately, I can’t really enjoy those pugs =/
    I’ve tried once on #tf2.gather.us (thanks to your suggestion!) and my ping is way too high.. combined with my super-über-leet skillz0rx = total pwnage! (for the enemy, of course).

    Will you later post your thoughts on ESEA, please?! thx! ^^

Leave a Reply

